Writing It All In One Night – The Scripts Are Done At Last!

I was able to finish the short scripts I had in mind.

A4Ztq

Luckily, I got it done in one night.

I basically stayed up till the crack of dawn and just wrote nonstop. Didn’t sleep until I actually finished revising them a million times. They were actually really good. I was literally crying in some parts and I couldn’t stop… maybe I was just so happy to be getting them down on paper for once. Anyway, it was some heavy stuff, but it was well worth it.

Stripping!I love my characters so much. It pains me to see them in certain tough situations, especially since I don’t know what the final outcome will be. What I did was pick some stock images, since Nicoy needed some references to sketch. I added some dialogue bubbles and that got the creative juices flowing again. Eventually, I opened Final Draft and typed up the entire script.

One was about 11-13 pages and the other was about 3-5 pages long. In addition, I finished revising the main script again and added new dialogue. I adjusted scenes and added things based on the weapon sketches we worked on, previously in the past. Now, Nicoy will know which item will be on what page and what to draw specifically. Nicoy is working on a new illustration right now. I know it’s going to be amazing!

After she completes that one, we’ll be going back to another character and revamping a few major things. I sent Nicoy plenty of image references just in case. The last couple of nights, I’ve been writing and thinking about so many things. A couple of years ago…I had written a whole set of myths surrounding the main protagonist, which are like fairy tales in a sense. We’ll be adding one of them in the beginning of the graphic novel.

It’ll be drawn in a completely different style, compared to the rest of the book. To me, all my characters are starting to become fully realized now, which is quite incredible! They’re living people now with real goals in mind; they’re a breath of fresh air. I don’t know if I’ll add all the short scripts in the graphic novel, due to some major spoilers. But they do give you some clues as to what’s really going on.

Maybe I will, maybe I won’t. But once we finish off the main drawings, we’ll be testing out how many panels we can actually fit on a page. How many panels can we put on a single page? I have no idea. I guess, we’ll find out…very soon indeed…

Grant it, some pages may have a single image, but I want to see how the pacing will be. It really depends on Nicoy and how much she’ll be able to squeeze everything in. We can’t have the images too small to see though, because that would be bad. I’m just curious about my page counts and if that will effect the real pages later on. I’m hoping it doesn’t go too overboard, but we’re going to have an experiment before we get down to the real meaty parts.

Someone mentioned I should go to Kickstarter and start there. I’ve checked out their site and I’m still on the fence about it. They have a strict set of guidelines. There’s nothing wrong with the rules and I have no problems following them. It’s just that I don’t think my graphic novel would be much welcomed on that site. It has touchy themes that people just don’t want to hear or even look at.

Not to say that no one wouldn’t like it or wouldn’t want to read it. But to put drawings/sketches of my graphic novel on a public site and ask for donations (when it’s still in the fragile stages of development) is something I fear might backfire and spiral to its ultimate downfall. It’s just too early right now and I’m very concerned at the moment to be hearing other people’s opinions. I’m sorry to say, putting out any unfinished work on any site (in any form) so soon is not good for me mentally. It’s a lot of pressure to bear.

I seriously don’t want me and Nicoy to be constantly answering people’s questions and what not while we’re working on this project. It would be a huge distraction and we’ll never get anything finished. We’re just not done or even no where near it… and I politely refuse to answer any questions about it. I’m still nice to people who are curious and seem to genuinely care.

However, I just don’t want loads of emails in my inbox or an angry mob asking us when we’re going to finish. Especially, stalking or harassing us about what the story is really about, etc, etc. Too much stress, man. I can’t handle it.

Right now, we’re comfortable going at our own quiet pace and I’d rather nobody see any images or know anything about the characters, until after publication. Hopefully by then, I’ll be in a much better place and ready to hear all sorts of opinions, whether it’s good or bad.

Also, I’m very paranoid and I don’t want anyone stealing my story and my characters. Sorry! But that’s just how I am. 😦 This project is top secret and I’d rather keep it that way. You never know who’s really watching and waiting for an opportunity to strike. And that’s a fact! People and companies are desperate for new ideas, hoping it’ll be the next best thing. Well, it’s not gonna happen here. So move on…

I know that when my story is published it’ll be the next best thing, because nobody has done it before. No one will ever write a story like this one. Actually, I take that back. No one would be brave enough to write this story. How do I know this? Well, you’re just going to have to take my word for it. Whatever happens, happens.

Thank you so much for reading!

itwasworthit

