So Much To Do, So Little Time: Brainstorming Some Ideas…

I took a break from designing the interior of the graphic novel… and now I’m thinking about a whole bunch of things I’d like to do but really can’t afford to.

avatar-emoticon-onion-head-117

I’d like to build a better website than this one, one where I can design freely and have whatever I want. Sadly, that’s not going to happen anytime soon… Not only does it take time and money, but I don’t think I have enough material to keep it going for very long.

What more could I add to the site that’s not been done before, in ten million other blogs?

If I did have the resources and the money to create my own website, I’d love to have a place where people could read some of the sample comics before buying them. An online store with T-shirts and merchandise connected to the series would be a wonderful thing to have as well. Not to mention, maybe a forum, promotional videos, and games.

In addition, I was trying to do more research on webcomics in general, which are a little different in some ways compared to regular comics you’d find on the book stand. Unlike traditional publishers, where you have to find an agent and pitch your story to a company, more people want to step out of that restricted box of guidelines.

Artists & writers are doing their own indie comics, due to the fact that self-publishing gives you total control and freedom to do whatever you want. How successful are they? What webcomics are not successful?

I guess it just depends on who you ask really. I don’t want to start a webcomic, unless I know I can absolutely finish and publish it as a book. Many times these comics are never completed or they’re delayed for many years. I’d rather work on a stand-alone story I know I can get done. If there’s room for more, I may just publish novels instead.

dMhLP

I’ve got some serious brainstorming to do…

