Kickstarter Vs. Patreon

I Prefer Kickstarter, Even If I Don’t Reach My Goal

181

The power went off today while I was writing this post and I had lost everything. So I’m writing it again from the very beginning. My hands are cramping up. Good times!

So far, my experience on Kickstarter is actually going a little better than Patreon. It could’ve been worse, but I knew the risks when I was going in. I’ll try to keep a daily blog here for my own timeline and for others as well. I’ve gotten one donation already and one new follower. Yay! Thank you so much to the both of you! I truly appreciate it from the bottom of my heart. ^__^

In addition, I’ve been able to support and fund a few projects here at Kickstarter. It’s not much, since I don’t have a lot of money. I don’t know why I didn’t do this before when I signed up in December 2016, but maybe I was too busy or preoccupied with what was going on in my life. It feels good to donate to other struggling artists, like myself. I don’t need any rewards or gifts for that. I just want to see hard working people succeed. I’m slowly learning the ropes and it’s actually not that bad.

avatar-emoticon-onion-head-117I had opened both sites on the same day, but Patreon’s site crashes a lot. It’s gotten to a point where I’m afraid to post something and not be able to go back to view it or edit it. Usually, I won’t see the page until the following day. I’ve noticed here on Kickstarter my posts after a certain time cannot be edited as well, but at least they give you some time to preview it first.

I understand that after my 30 days are expired, Kickstarter will close this page permanently. They’ll still leave my project visible as a guideline for others, so they too may learn from other people’s experiences or mistakes. This will give future creators ideas to help them with their own projects, regardless if those before them were successful or not successful.

Patreon’s reward system is extremely confusing to understand and use at times. I’m trying small amounts such as 1, 5, 10, 20 and the max is 50. They give you suggestions and examples of what you can do to get people to donate; however, they don’t really explain how these rewards will be implemented in the future.

I believe creators can pick and choose which patrons see what after they contribute to a project, but how do we decide on that exactly? Or can patrons see everything and drop out later before the monthly bill is up? I still don’t fully comprehend the concept as of yet nor how their system works exactly.

avatar-emoticon-onion-head-6Patreon’s goal planner or reacher doesn’t really add anything new to the site either. You can only have one goal present on your page for some reason, not several goals at one time. It could be community based or an earnings based goal, but it’s kind of odd in some ways. I’ll keep testing it to see if it works out or not.

In addition, you can’t add any new websites to Patreon’s website feeder at the left hand side. They should have a place were you can post a link to any blog you want rather than the main four ones: Twitter, Facebook, Youtube, and Twitch. I can’t post my WordPress blog up there. Nor Tumblr. Nor DA. Only in the main section itself, where you can place your videos and a summary of your project. That’s it.

What I don’t like about Patreon is their search feature. You can’t find newcomers like yourself or people who recently made their page Live. You only see the top 10-20 creators, who are making thousands of dollars. There’s nothing wrong with this and I understand why Patreon does it, but then it leaves the struggling artists at the very bottom with no real exposure whatsoever.

Marketing and exposure are necessary for one’s project to survive on Patreon and Kickstarter. I found out long ago it doesn’t really matter if you worked on your project for 10-20 years, have a well-written story, realistic characters with flaws, original concept, or an amazing idea… If you can’t sell it, then you’re dead in the water.

There are many reasons why I don’t do much marketing, even though I do have an author’s blog and try to keep daily posts. In fact, it’s too complicated to get into right now. But here’s a story for you. Back in college, when I had done marketing for an independent director, it was the same situation.

The director of the project hadn’t given us any supplies (DVDs, posters, T-shirts, etc) to help market his film to people, because he knew beforehand that he didn’t have any famous actors in it and that the reviews from the pre-screenings had been pretty bad.

I guess he just didn’t see a point to it anymore. A few movie critics had already determined his fate, which is kind of tragic in a sense, especially since I had watched the movie and it was better than I thought. Maybe the ending was too jarring or shocking that it made critics hate the film.

I joined two Meet-up groups, a writers group and an independent film group, hoping to market the film. I drove to a couple meetings every month, participated in their events, and still nobody from those two groups went to see the film to support us, even though it was technically about a writer suffering from writer’s block.

dMhLPSo there you have it. Original ideas are out there, but without an audience who’s interested to go see these projects, many of these filmmakers, artists, or inventors don’t stand a chance. That’s just the world we live in.

If you don’t have an audience already or 10,000 followers you cannot thrive on Patreon and Kickstarter. I don’t see myself constantly e-mailing or calling thousands of people every single day. I don’t have the time for Press Release Kits and I’m not going to call every newspaper in existence.

If I had the money to pay a marketing team, maybe I would… But I’d rather spend my days, focusing all my time and energy on getting projects done, so I can get them published. Then, after that, I move on to the next one. Maybe eventually, it will happen someday.

I always reflect and look back to famous writers and artists, who were never recognized for what they did, even in their own time period. They were never famous to begin with until after their deaths. Like Edgar Allan Poe, Plato, Emily Dickinson, H.P. Lovecraft, Stieg Larsson, Vincent Van Gogh, and many others.

This is sad, but true. I’ll keep my Patreon page up, regardless of what happens to me. I’ll still do my updates, since no one can really find my posts or my pages. They’d have to know what they’re looking for exactly or have a link for themselves.

Despite what happens and my slim chances of reaching an audience, I’ll always continue writing and doing what I love. If I make no money from this Kickstarter Page, or Patreon, or in the future that’s all right by me. Many poor authors, such as myself, probably won’t see a dime back in our lifetime. That’s reality for ya. Maybe after I’m long gone, I could probably sell something. ^__^

