Galactic Log 1.3 – Rho Tiarmstrong

This is neither my home nor the Earth I was born on. I doubt that I’m on a planet at all. Knowing this is millions of years into the future, I wasn’t supposed to be alive in such an era.

It doesn’t actually bother me––I don’t hate it here. Don’t love it either. It’s complicated, but I just don’t belong anywhere, and I really don’t have much of a choice on where I go. I can choose to stay or die.

The alternative is to leave. But it’s a lot harder than it looks. Sure, it seems easier to walk away from everything, leaving everyone you know behind. The point of it all is to move on and assume some other identity.

However, the thought of abandoning this world is what frightens me the most. Every choice I make has a consequence that will eventually decide my ultimate fate.

But if I should stay…I know I’ll never be able to watch the ones I love die around me. Whether it’s by sickness or disease. Sometimes, death is from old age, or from my bare hands, or from someone else’s. It’s still continually the same. 

Sooner or later, it all comes to a crashing halt.

(To be continued…)

Copyrighted © 2017 by W.D. Lady


Table of Contents:

