Galactic Log 2.1 – Someone To Talk To (Rho Tiarmstrong)

It wasn’t long before Nina helped me clean and sweep around the apartment. That little, yellow maid robot was faster than I thought, and she wasn’t afraid of hard work. She was always happy and eager to assist me. When I finally found a clean pair of clothes, I started getting dressed quickly.

Then, I followed behind Nina, trying to figure out what I could possibly do for her. I saw Nina place some items on a shelf and so I imitated her movements exactly, putting whatever stuff that might seem useful on the kitchen counter.

I really didn’t know what I was doing, but it felt good to be of some use and to do something besides my usual routine. Normally, I would just go back to bed. But today felt different. I was sick of staying indoors all the time. How many galactic years has it been? How long was I in hiding?

It took us about three days to remove the trash out of the room. However, I was too nervous of going outside, so Nina would drag the black bags to the dumpster downstairs. I didn’t want anyone to see me, and yet there was one last bag that was too heavy for Nina to lift. That little robot was pulling with all her might, which made me feel bad somewhat.

Why am I apprehensive? What is keeping me here in this room? Is it fear? Is it something else?

What if someone sees me? What if I don’t know them? What if they know me? Or what if I know them? What the fuck would I say?

Glancing around the apartment, my eyes spotted an old worn-out cowboy hat. I picked it up instantly and placed it on top of my head. This would have to do as a disguise for now. I grabbed the enormous bag, putting it over my shoulder and took one step out of the room.

“Thank you, Miss Rho. I appreciate your help,” Nina said.

“Yea-yeah, sure…”

She showed the way. “Follow me.”

The yellow robot floated in the hallway. I heard faint music and wondered where it was coming from. As I approached Nina the sound got louder; she sang herself a tune.

Spider monkeys are hairy,
but they are so cute,
Spider monkeys are small,

but they are long gone.

 

What the fuck is she singing? What the hell is a spider monkey? I kept my head down, hoping to conceal my face.

Nina came to a sudden halt in front of two sliding doors and pressed a button on the wall.

She turned to me and waved. “Miss Rho, the dumpster is on the bottom floor.”

I rolled my eyes, hoping she’d turn off that annoying music. Nina had a transparent screen that projected furry creatures on the walls, dancing wildly. Were those monkeys?

“Thanks again for the help, Miss Rho. It would’ve taken me forever to drag it in here.”

In a low voice, I tried to sound like a man. “No problemo, compadre.”

“Compadre?” Nina blinked in confusion. “What does that mean?”

“It means ‘friend,” I whispered back at her.

“Friend…”

Nina turned off the music and the dancing monkeys. “I will have to put that word into my vocabulary databases, since it’s the first time I’m hearing it.”

“It’s a Spanish word.”

“Spanish?”

“You never heard of Spanish before?” I asked, raising a brow. “I thought everyone knew that.”

“I know many alien languages, but we don’t have Spanish in Cloud Nine. That word is probably from the Forbidden Old Ages.”

“The Forbidden Old Ages?” I dropped the bag and it made a thunderous thud.

Is she calling me old?

“Yes, Miss Rho. Spanish, Japanese, German, Arabic, Portuguese, French, Chinese, and other human languages have ceased to exist here. No one uses them anymore, because they all died out several million galactic years ago.”

There was a faint beeping sound overhead and a light flickered in our direction. The double doors opened. I snatched up the big bag and took a deep sigh of relief once we got inside the elevator, but I couldn’t stop thinking about what Nina had just said to me.

All these human languages are extinct now. Humanity is gone. Our civilization and our entire history has been wiped out. No one is left, except me…

(TO BE CONTINUED… )

Copyrighted © 2017 by W.D. Lady

